National Assembly

HomeAbout Bahrain > Government > National Assembly

National Assembly: Since its early years, Bahrain has adopted democracy which has been an integral part of the policies of its successive rulers, for decades.

The establishment of the Shura Council, in the 1930s of the last century, was the first democratic experience in Bahrain under the reign of Shaikh Isa bin Ali Al Khalifa, which was an important stage of the history of Bahrain.

Then many consultation – based governments followed in until His Majesty King Hamad bin Isa Al Khalifa came to power.

Deeply interested in the involvement and partnership of citizens in the decision-making process, out of a true belief in the importance of democracy, His Majesty launched an ambitious reforming project on top of which was the National Action Charter, which reflected his vision for the democratization and parliamentary process in the country.

After the National Action Charter was ratified, the National Assembly was founded including the Shura and Representatives chambers.

Accordingly, the National Assembly consists of two chambers: the Shura Council and the Council of Representatives.

The two chambers work in harmony forming the basis for legislative and monitoring process in Bahrain.

Shura Council: The Shura Council has played a remarkable role over the years in terms of creating a functioning and healthy democratic environment and mature political action in Bahrain.

Accordingly, the Constitution approved of the establishment of the Shura Council to be composed of forty members appointed by Royal Order.

The term of membership is four years and members may be reappointed when the term has expired.

Visit the Shura Council website:

The Council of Representatives: This council was created based on the text of the Charter and the Constitution, working hand in hand with the Consultative Shura Council, to consolidate democratic action in the country and popular participation in decision-making.

The Council is legislative and monitoring body and has the tools:

  • Motion.
  • Questions.
  • Interrogations.
  • Giving vote of no - confidence in a minister.
  • Fact-finding Requests.

Visit the Council of Representatives website:


  • Foreign Minister Dr. Abdullatif bin Rashid Alzayani



  • Ministry of Foreign Affairs
    P.O. Box 547
    Government Road
    Manama, Kingdom of Bahrain

    7:30 AM - 2:15 PM

    Operation Office:
    24 Hours

    Telephone: +973-17227555

  • السفارات

  • العثور على سفارة مملكة البحرين :

  • bahrain
  • 2030 bahrain
  • business in bahrain
  • bahrain
  • upr
  • kingdom of bahrain
  • *وزارة الخارجية 'المسؤول عن تنسيق وتنفيذ جميع المسائل ذات الصلة بالسياسة الخارجية للبلاد ، وعلاقات البحرين مع الدول الأخرى والمنظمات الدولية ، وحماية مصالح المواطنين البحرينيين في الخارج.
  • مملكة البحرين

    وزارة الخارجية

    ص.ب 547
    شارع الحكومة
    مملكة البحرين

Level A conformance icon,
W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0